Call nowBook now
REVIEWS AND AWARDS2018-10-26T18:51:26+00:00

Inn At Lake Joseph Reviews & Rewards

RECOGNITION OF OUR CATSKILLS RESORT

Inn at Lake Joseph will quickly become your favorite destination for Catskill lodging. With unique rooms and delightful amenities in a serene location, our bed and breakfast welcomes guests any time of year. Look to the right to see some of the many awards we’ve received.

REVIEWS

Featured Review


New York Times
February 2008

But only experienced goof-offs should attempt a destination like the Inn at Lake Joseph, where there is a dangerous amount to do because the innkeepers, Ivan and Rue Weinger, provide things like cross-country skis and snowshoes…
Be especially careful not to take any laptops, video games, iPhones, BlackBerrys, briefcases or co-workers…
Innkeepers agree that, especially if you’re one of those tightly wound urbanites, a weekend in the middle of nowhere can have a dramatic effect.
“It’s a visible change,” Ms. Dyer at the Inn at Lake Joseph said. “When people get here, they’re usually pretty stressed out. By Saturday morning, you are physically watching them relax.”
–Neil Genzlinger, New York Times article All Nothing, All the Time

We visited the Inn in July and were very pleased. The room was large and nicely decorated. The grounds were beautiful and the staff warm and helpful. They include breakfast but so much more. There is a fully stocked ‘pantry’ area where you can find something to eat and drink all day. My only regret was that we did not have enough time to enjoy everything they offer. When we are in the area again, we would definitely stay there.

Wonderful Stay, July 2018

We had such a good time at the Inn, there is so much to do everyone was so friendly and helpful. The Inn is a well keep mansion with beautiful grounds and pool, the lake is excellent for fishing. We will be going back.

Beautiful, July 2018

This was our 2nd time staying here in as many years and I can’t say enough about the property or the staff. The room was clean and extremely comfortable. The pool is spotless and the activities, row boats, kayaks, bicycles all just waiting to be used. If you like to fish but can’t bring a rod with you, do as I did and go to Walmart and buy a cheap rig because the lake is loaded with bass that can’t wait to jump on your lure (watermelon seed finesse worm with a 1/0 worm hook). The breakfast served every morning is as good as you’ll find in any Monticello restaurant and you can enjoy the company of your fellow guests. Make sure you visit the Forestburgh Playhouse less 10 minutes away for an incredible production of a Broadway show that is so good you’ll think you’re in Manhattan.

2nd Time and Still a Charmer., July 2018

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend here to celebrate our 30th anniversary. The Inn at Lake Joseph exceeded every expectation!! The room was spectacular. Although a bit cold in April we took out the kayaks on the beautiful lake. We also enjoyed a hike in their well marked trails. I would love to return with my family for a getaway.

Perfect Getaway, June 2018

This is a jewel of a place with comfortable rooms, nice people and excellent breakfasts. They even have a 24/7 open pantry for snacks, drinks and cold cuts. The grounds are beautiful and available activities are many. Easy walk to a pristine lake. Bring your fishing rod. Ivan, the owner, tells good stories, so be sure to meet him. Loved it.

Wonderful place to stay, June 2018

Nice place, wish we had more time! Breakfast was fantastic, was even upgraded to a better room to fit our needs. They even catered to our vegetarian needs. Was able to cook my wife a beautiful dinner, had a great set up and dishes, pots and pans. Asked for chocolates and flowers to be there when we arrived! And they had it set up!! Great service! We needed the break from our reality! Thank You!

Wife's birthday, February 2018

My husband and I loved our stay at Lake Joseph. Every staff member was so accommodating and pleasant. The food is plentiful and good. There are trails to hike and a lovely lake to kayak. We got to feed a deer in the rear yard of the Inn. It was magical.

Wonderful stay!, October 2017

We were in the US for 2 weeks at the end of May/beginning of June this summer.

Although we had amazing stays in NYC and Miami, this inn was probably the most memorable part of the trip.

The location gives you easy access to hiking trails, and a beautiful lake where we went kayaking (the inn has row boats and kayaks that you’re free to borrow). Out on the lake we saw turtles, which we thought was very cool. Several times we saw deer just outside the inn.

Other things we enjoyed were the jacuzzi in the room, the nice breakfast, and the super friendly staff. At breakfast we had nice conversations with the staff and the other guests. In the little kitchen area, there was always access to ice tea and coffee as well as bread, cheese, ham etc so that you could make sandwiches for lunch when needed.

The inn had also just opened up their pool which was a nice touch on the warm days.

Coming over from the UK, we enjoyed seeing this part of America. I recommend going into the nearby town of Monticello where we went to a cute diner on the main street with really nice American comfort food. On one of the days we also drove out to Bethel Woods to visit the Woodstock museum. If you’ve got time, I’d definitely go there.

Thanks to the innkeepers and the staff who made our stay really memorable. Matt was especially helpful and so nice!

If you’re coming in from JFK, this inn is about a 2-2,5 hour drive away and my partner thought it was an easy and pleasant drive (I was in the passenger seat…)

Could not be more positive, October 2017

The room was great, the staff friendly,and the location, the trails, the lake. the boats, the pool, pool table, games so much to do, did not get to do it all in 3 days. It was just the relaxed weekend I needed. Thanks to everyone at the inn, great time. Ivan and his family have thought of everything.

Great trip, October 2017

Looking for a quite, charming getaway in the Catskills? Here ya go…..The Inn at Lake Joseph. Matt is the main host and he is attentive to all. We just went up for 2 nights for a little leaf-peeping and R&R and we got it!!! Secluded, calm and beautifully laid out property. THE BEST breakfast!! Old World Rustic! Enjoy!

So peaceful, October 2017

My husband and I just returned from The Inn at Lake Joseph in the Catskills Mountains. Just wonderful. Rustic, and beautiful. Delicious breakfast daily (made to order), gorgeous property, from bike lane safe, hiking trail, hammocks, fire pit, beautiful lake for lounging, canoeing, boating. So quiet, relaxing and totally ideal for letting go. Went to visit old stomping grounds from sixty years ago…unfortunately, not there anymore. Did visit Woodstock Museum in Bethel, which is a must. So wonderful to step back in time. All in all, wonderful getaway.

Little getaway and walk down memory lane, October 2017

AWARDS

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Inn at Lake Joseph has been named to the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2016. This award is given to properties who are consistently earning great reviews from their travelers!

Fodor’s Selects Inn at Lake Joseph #1 Catskills Destination for Fall Foliage

Named as one of the “10 Best Fall Foliage Trips in the U.S.” “The Catskills are fabled for their charming B&Bs. For more of a retreat experience, head to the Inn at Lake Joseph, a sixteen-room country resort located on a 250-acre private lake.”

Top 10 New York Romantic Inns and Hotels

Resorts and Lodges has included the Inn At Lake Joseph in their Top 10 New York State Romantic Inns and Hotels. Rekindle the spark of passion in your relationship on this majestic 250 acre property with a private lake and wildlife forest.

Selected as one of the “Top 10 Catskills Inns”

Inn at Lake Joseph was selected as #3 in the Resorts & Lodges Top 10 Catskills Inns. With the charming accommodations offered at Inn at Lake Joseph, the location is perfect for the “peaceful, relaxing vacation you’ve always wanted to take”.

Karen Brown Recommended

In addition to receiving the KB Star award, the Inn at Lake Joseph is only one of two Catskill Mountain destinations that were qualified to be published in Karan Brown’s World of travel guides.

Selected as One of 52 Nationwide Weekend Escapes

New York Magazine, winner of the American Association of Magazine Editor’s award for Magazine of the year has selected The Inn at Lake Joseph as one of 52 weekend getaway destinations for those who want to escape the hustle and bustle of the urban environments.

Select Registry Distinguished Inns of North America

Select Registry is a diverse collection of independent, boutique properties that deliver a level of personalized hospitality unheard of at hotel chains and a quality of experience that only a select few independent properties can attain. These upscale properties range from classic bed and breakfasts and full-service inns to stately mansions and manors, rustic lodges and ranches, modern boutique hotels, historic castles and luxury cabins. They stretch from Napa Valley to New England, the Pacific Northwest to Key West, plus Canada and Europe too!

Inn at Lake Joseph Awarded 4th Place in “New York Top Picks”

Inn at Lake Joseph Awarded 4th Place in “New York Top Picks”

Trips with Pets was created by those who enjoy traveling with their furry family members and features thousands of pet friendly destinations in New York State. The Inn at Lake Joseph is awarded 4th place in their “New York Top Picks” for pet friendly destinations.

Inn at Lake Joseph Awarded “First Class” Inn

Inn at Lake Joseph Awarded “First Class” Inn

Of the 57 Catskill Mountain hotels and Inns that were rated, the Inn at Lake Joseph is one of only four to receive the “First Class”destination award.
The hotel and travel index classification system and rating procedure has been the industry standard for over 70 years. Used in travel publications including official hotel guide, business travel planner, travel weekly, and the hotel and travel index, it stands alone as a completely objective and independent evaluation system with world wide recognition and application.

Sullivan County Pride Award

Proudly honors Inn at Lake Joseph the Pride of the Town of Forestburgh

New York State Assembly Certificate of Merit

Forestburgh Township Award